TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

HDMI problems on blu ray and fibre optic cable not working?

by mypresenttense / January 12, 2010 1:17 AM PST

I had an LG dvd player that was a few years old. My son watches movies on it, and one day it stopped showing video. The sound still worked but video was not appearing in our 42 LG tv. It is the one that has a built in PVR. I think it's approximately 3 years old. I took this as an opportunity to upgrade to a Blu Ray. I got home and installed the Blu Ray with only the HDMI chord and the fibre optical sound surround chord thing. (Can you see I'm not technical) The set up screen showed up, but when it came to the part to test the HDMI input it gave me a "no input" all of the sudden on my tv. So, I started all over skippng the set up and put a DVD in it. The DVD came through with sound only going to my TV, not the sound surround in the amp to speakers where the fibre optic chord was plugged into my pioneer amp (again, 3 years old approximately). However, the video was slightly to the right, cutting the right off. When I tried to reset it, it simply did not give me a video at all. I plugged the HDMI into the second slot of the TV and got the same reaction. When I switched from the HDMI chord to a regular video yellow cable it worked perfectly. Obviously I would like to use the HDMI for better quality right? So when this worked I tried the DVD player and it worked. So what is wrong, the cable or TV? As well, the fibre optic cable is not giving a send to my amp. Is there a switch I need to switch to make it recieve the fibre optic send? Like I said, i can get volume through the tv, but I want to use a the new cable for sound surround. How can I figure out what is wrong? Do I need to buy a new amp for sound surround? The optic input has never been used so i don't know why it would not work? The red light shines through the cable when plugged into the Blu ray. Is there any way I can make for certain that it is not my TV,