PC Hardware forum

General discussion

hardware for making dvd's

OK, I've searched the web over and over for the way to set up my pc to be able to upload my mini dv tapes to my pc and then burn them onto a dvd to play on my home dvd player. I have the appropriate software to reformat to mpeg2 or whatever I want.

I think it would be easiest to just tell you what I have and ask what I need! I need to try to do this as cheap as possible too. I'm a college student and every few bucks is important. The main deal is that I have several mini dv tapes (wedding included) that I need to put into a better, more accessible type media for long term "keepage".

I have:
Dell Dimension 4500
256mb RAM
40gb hd (24gb free)
40x cd burner

I THINK I need:
another 512 RAM
about 40-80gb more HD
a dvd burner (OK so I know I need this one)

I've been researching like crazy for these components and man there are too many choices!!!

First off the extra RAM. Newegg.com seems to have excellent prices on a huge selection of RAM... Would something like this be appropriate? http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproductdesc.asp?description=20-145-026&DEPA=1 (I hope the link works)

Also, the extra hard drive. I want to go internal because it's cheaper... Will newegg have what I need??? Any suggestions?

For the dvd burner... I understand the different formats but there are still too many to choose from... I want to go interal here too (unless there's a cheap external burner (doubt it). Doing this will cause me to have to remove my current cd burner (lack of space) Does anyone see a problem with this?

Anyhow, It looks like I need 3 pieces of hardware and I need it as affordable as possible. I've bought from newegg.com before and I'd like to buy it all there if possible???

Thanks!

Brent

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: hardware for making dvd's