PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Graphics Card Issue

by horizon981 / September 10, 2006 5:17 PM PDT

First off, im a complete rookie to graphics card, so pardon if something is not clear.
My system is Intel PIV(3.06 GHZ) 1024 MB RAM and Intel 865G graphics chipset with 96 MB RAM. These are a few issues with this card:
When I installed Prince of Persia warrior within, it said my card didn't support Pixel Shader 1.1, I still ran it and things were fine. From time to time, I have seen games complaining. Besides, I don't think 96 MB is considered good for a hobbyist gamer. (I may be wrong though.)

What is the status of this card in today's world?

It has an AGI 8X slot. Most games list their requirements in terms of Nvidia this or that or ATI Radeon this or that.
Can I fix a non-Intel card in that AGI slot? (Of course I'll get a professional to install it.)

Recently Titan Quest has refused to run my system, and it really boils my blood..

What is the best solution for my problems? I want an AGP card that is not too highly priced and has a good value for money.

By the way, I remember having read somewhere that it is possible to disable this Intel on-board card. Can it be done?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Plz help me out.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Graphics Card Issue
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Graphics Card Issue