Question

GPU fan goes to 100% in sleep mode

I'm fairly new to building computers, and this is my first build. It was working perfectly until I recently decided that I wanted a second monitor. This monitor is a 1920x1080 Viewsonic monitor connected through a DVI port straight to the GPU. The computer acts perfectly normal while powered on, but when it goes into sleep mode, (more often if it wasn't doing anything intensive), the GPU fan spins up to 100% for about 30 seconds. The thing sounds like it's trying to take off. There's about a 5 minute delay, then it comes back for 25 seconds, then 20, etc. until it just stops. This happens roughly one in four times I let it go into sleep mode, and starts after a delay of 5-10 minutes. I'm concerned that I'm damaging the GPU by letting this happen. What's going on, can I stop it, and should I be concerned?

My specs:
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
CPU: Intel core i5-8400 @ 2.80 GHz
RAM: 16 GB Mushkin DDR4
GPU: AMD Radeon Sapphire Pulse RX 580
Power Supply: 800W Gold Rated
I'm running Windows 10 Pro 10.0.18362 Build 18362.
I have checked, and I'm on the latest BIOS and newest drivers.

Discussion is locked

Answer
Follow
Reply to: GPU fan goes to 100% in sleep mode
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: GPU fan goes to 100% in sleep mode
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments