Browsers, E-mail, & Web Apps forum

General discussion

Google regional settings issues.

by kasua4522 / October 5, 2010 1:51 AM PDT

I am a united states soldier stationed in germany, i have a pc bought in the united states and the english version of mozilla firefox installed on my computer however when i type in url's ending in .com most of them are redirected to .de, and when i search for items using any type of search engine the results all turn up in german. i have translator add-on installed for firefox and, while useful it is very innacurate. so i guess my question is how can i change the locale or region settings to eliminate this issue. thank you!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Google regional settings issues.
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Google regional settings issues.
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
You've asked a very interesting question
by MDFlax / October 5, 2010 9:34 PM PDT