Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

get blue screen with blue vertical stripes

by snacks55 / February 6, 2010 6:23 AM PST

computer crashed?about 2 months ago. cleaned it, added some ram total now 512.computer runs,if i open documents pitures,etc,its ok.however if i try to run symantec or read my emails it will give me a few minutes and then goes to this blue striped screen and i have to shut down computer and restart.oh, i also changed the battery on the mb someone said they can get weak,perhaps causing problem beyond that he suggested possible mb chip.
i'm a newbie trying to learn a little appreciate any help i can get.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: get blue screen with blue vertical stripes
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: get blue screen with blue vertical stripes
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Try this.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / February 6, 2010 6:28 AM PST

Remove the side cover and point a fan at the open case.