Cameras forum

General discussion

First timer....go easy. Advice needed for a digital newbie.

by jamisonrg / August 13, 2005 4:36 AM PDT

I am in the market for a new digital camera and have very little idea of how to begin as I have never owned a digital camera before. I have some limited experience with std. photography using fully manual SLR cameras.

I'd like to be able to take snapshots with the ability to have some manual controls if I start getting 'into it' more.

Picture quality is important. I'd like the ability to make larger prints if I actually shoot something worthwhile.

The size of camera is not that important, although smaller would be nice.

I would like a good macro feature.

Did I mention I have a budget? I would like to stay around $300-$350 before accessories.

There seems to be a ton of choices in this price range and I'm overwhelmed. Any advice and user experiences (good or bad) would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: First timer....go easy. Advice needed for a digital newbie.
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: First timer....go easy. Advice needed for a digital newbie.
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.