Laptops forum

General discussion

First Time Notebook

by Taekduu / August 2, 2004 9:07 AM PDT

I know a number of people have posted about htis and it might be repetitive. I apologize if it is.

I have been researching notebooks and PDAs for the last couple of months. I suspect I am more confused now than I was when I started.

I am a medical student who will be graduating in the next year. I want a laptop that I can take with me for a one month elective and that will replace my desktop at the end of the year. It doesn't need to be light, but it does need to be powerful and I don't really mind weight. Considering my regular hospital bag has weighed between 15 to 20 pounds, depending on where I am going so a little weight won't kill me. The max price I am looking at is about $2400.

I have been looking at the Dell 8600 and the HP zd7000. My question is this, is it really worth it to get one or the other or are they just equal? Or is there something else I should be looking at? I would like to not have to buy another one in a year.

Thank you for your help.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: First Time Notebook
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: First Time Notebook
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.