Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Firewall. The right one?

by meet_kareem / April 1, 2006 10:50 PM PST

Thanks for all the good advice re having a Firewall.
Now to select the right one!
I have Windows 2000 Professional. The computer is professional, not me. I am a novice. I use Rogers-Yahoo Hi-Speed Internet services with their Online Protection Software suite.

I do Internet Banking, e-mails & surf a little.
I had Zonelabs Free Edition Firewall recommended by Rogers-Yahoo & one day whilst updating the Firewall my computer crashed. Spent plenty of $$$$'s having Windows re-installed etc. Since then, which was October 2005, I have not installed another Firewall.

So do I go for Zonelabs again or maybe McAfee or another? Please assist & 'Thank you' again.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Firewall. The right one?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Firewall. The right one?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
For me...