Spyware, Viruses, & Security forum

General discussion

Firewall scanning of ports

by phil66 / April 2, 2005 3:44 AM PST

Hi group

I am new to firewall(Sygate5.5)I keep getting port scans from my isp.I questioned why and sent logs to show results in return this is this latest answer I recieved from my ISP

"These scans are simply 'background noise' of the internet and will always occur. They are the result of infected machines still trying to propigate.
If you provide detailed firewall logs, we may identify those that are infected and notify them. As long as your system is fully updated with
microsoft security patches and latest virusdefinitions, virtually all of this traffic is harmless"

Window ME Updates
Spybot search & Destroy
Spyware Blaster
Win Patrol
Adware personnel se 1.05
And numerous others for spot checks including Housecall and Panda online scanners

As I said earlier I am not familiar with firewall but this sounds like a lot of foolish double talk to me.

Would someone enlighten me on the contents of this message.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Firewall scanning of ports
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Firewall scanning of ports
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.