Computer Help forum

Resolved Question

Fios gateway as ethernet switch via nighthawk R8000p?

So I have a gigabit connection coming in from verizon. It currently comes in via ethernet from an ONT in the basement straight up to our tri-band ac4000 nighthawk x6s r8000p.

I need more ethernet net ports, probably another 4 to be safe.

But here is the twist......

I have one of the ethernet cables going from my nighthawk to my Fios gateway(with both wifi bands off) and the Fios gateway is currently in bridge mode. I had to do this so we can get on demand and dvr. And the fios gateway has 4 ethernet ports that have Internet connection, via ethernet from the nighthawk.

So my real question is can I just use my Fios gateway as a "switch"? And will I achieve everything speed wise as I would with a decent switch? Oh and will I run into any double nat issues? (Fio gateway is in bridge mode)

I am kind of new to some of the slightly advanced router settings so please bare with me lol.

Thanks in advance,
Shane

SHANECOOK1989 has chosen the best answer to their question. View answer
Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Fios gateway as ethernet switch via nighthawk R8000p?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Fios gateway as ethernet switch via nighthawk R8000p?