Desktops forum

General discussion

Finally going to purchase a brand new puter

but I don't know what to buy for sure. I am looking at a Compaq, sempron processor, 512 RAM, 160 hard drive w/monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers for 598.00. Win XP and CD writer included. But people are trying to get me to look at a Dell but I don't know how to put one together on the Dell site? Any suggestions? I am not a pro, yet, but I am not a beginner either. If anyone has a good suggestion on the best package under 650 bucks, your feedback is appreciated:) Denise in Alabama:)

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Finally going to purchase a brand new puter
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Finally going to purchase a brand new puter
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Here's some good deals!

In reply to: Finally going to purchase a brand new puter

Collapse -
about Sempron...

In reply to: Here's some good deals!