Windows Vista forum

General discussion

File sharing between Vist and XP

by beejay49 / December 13, 2008 2:44 AM PST

Hi I am new to cnet so I apologise if my problem has been answered before. I have looked at other posts but cannot see my problem.
I have just bought a new laptop running Vista and have an existing desktop running XP connected to a speedtouch wireless modem via its network connection. Both machines access the internet with no problem. I have made the network name WORKGROUP on both machines and the Vista machine can see the XP one, it can also see all the folders and files that I have set up for sharing on the XP
BUT
when I try to open a folder or file on the XP from the Vista one I get a message as follows:
"\\Pent1\<folder name> is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact ........etc
Not enough server storage is available to process this command "
Pent1 is the name of the XP computer.
Does anyone have any ideas as to the cause of the problem - I was wondering about the last sentence of the message concerning storage.
I will be grateful for any help

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: File sharing between Vist and XP
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: File sharing between Vist and XP
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.