Mac Hardware forum

General discussion

Eye TV Tuner will not operate

by jmbklj / July 3, 2009 2:39 AM PDT

I'm new to Mac. Two weeks ago I bought a new iMac (24" 2.66 Ghz Mac OS X 10.5.7) at the Apple store along with the Elgato Eye TV Hybrid tuner. I use the TV function every day, but today it shut off and will not work. I received an error message telling me that Eye TV will not work in a 1.1 USB port and that I should plug the TV tuner in a 2.0 USB port. It's my understanding that all the iMac ports are 2.0.

I tried calling Apple Care Support but they are closed for the 3 day holiday. : (

Any idea what the problem is or what I can do to get this to work? I am using the cables that came with they Eye TV tuner. I've restarted the iMac a couple times and the same thing happens.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Eye TV Tuner will not operate
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Eye TV Tuner will not operate
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
USB 2.0