Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Encrypted folder - Windows XP SP3

by dc_2000 / December 1, 2009 4:42 AM PST

Hi everyone:

I've never tried it before, so please bear with me. I got a second hard drive for my Windows XP SP3 system and I moved some bulky folders off of my documents into it. I know that My Documents folder was protected by my Windows user password, but when I moved my files to a separate hard drive this password protection went away. To restore it, I went to the folder on a new hard drive, right-clicked on it, went into properties, then advanced and set Encrypt contents check to on. Then it took almost a day (for 211 GB folder) to apply! and now what happens is that when I log in under a different user account I can still see files on that folder, but when I try to open them I get Access Denied message.

So here are my questions:

(1) Is it possible to set it up so that folders were not openable on that drive from outside of my original user account? Or at least, so that file names didn't show?

(2) If I decide to upgrade and move that second hard drive to a new computer, how can I be able to access it there?

(3) Just curious, how secure is such protection? I know it depends on the strength of my password, but say, if the password is a 6 letter word that is not a word from a dictionary, it is not in any way associated with me, nor it's written anywhere on my actual desk Happy So, just curious ...

Thanks in advance...

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Encrypted folder - Windows XP SP3
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates