Video Cameras forum

General discussion

editing camcorder dvds

by pc2342 / October 8, 2005 10:44 PM PDT

I have a Sony Handycam which records on a mini dvd in a .vob format. The problem is finding an editing software that can safely pull in the video for editing. I've used Pinnacle Studio 9 but the audio/video get out of sync. I've tried to convert the source file from dvd to avi prior to importing into Pinnacle but it didn't help.

I recently purchased Sony's Movie Studio+DVD. It looks like I'm headed down the same path with them. I have unlock a key in order to import from a camcorder DVD just like Pinnacle.

I am running Windows XP on an 80 GB HD partitioned into multiple drives. The camcorder does not have a firewire nor does it support a firewire connection.

It seems the help I get from Pinnacle is cookie cutter and I'm just getting started with Sony.

Has anyone encountered this same issue? I really would love to get this working!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: editing camcorder dvds
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: editing camcorder dvds
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.