Cameras forum

General discussion

Dust and D-SLR's.....My Nikon D40 Nightmare....

by ArthurJS / May 24, 2007 11:17 AM PDT

This was a Nikon technician's (I will keep him nameless) "official" word on dust on the low pass filter/sensor, which I already have on my Nikon D40, after less than 2 weeks of ownership. My retailer, which will remain nameless, is exchanging it for a brand new one tomorrow. I love the camera, but, come on guys. And, have D-SLR's even been around for this long?

HI

I've been using D-SLR cameras for almost 15 years and dust is always an issue. In most cases I never worry about cleaning dust from the cameras because usually the dust doesn't show up. If I am shooting a smooth toned subject (clear blue sky, gray background, etc.) I will clean the sensor with a bulb blower and it works fine. Keep the camera pointed down and use a few puffs from the blower. You can usually see the dust on the internal filter if you get the light just right so it may take a few puffs to clean it off, but it almost always works fine.

This is perfectly normal and after a few months will become routine. Even some of the newer cameras which purport to have "anti-dust" sensors and special devices require this cleaning and it shouldn't be feared. Thanks

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Dust and D-SLR's.....My Nikon D40 Nightmare....
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.