Linux forum

General discussion

Dual Boot XP and Ubuntu Problem

ok so i have a laptop that has the ability to accept en external hardrive by taking out the CD/DVD Driver...both of my hard drive are SATA. In the internal HDD Windows xp Pro SP3 is installed and in the external HDD Ubuntu (whit the last kernel) is installed...now the problem is that when i was installing Ubuntu in the external HDD I stupidly made the external hardrive to be the main or the mother boot. In other words if i where to take out the external HDD (where ubuntu is installed) and put back the CD/DVD driver...the computer would not boot up.....and it wont allow me to boot from Window...

Now i know the easies solutions is Reinstall but i dont want to do that so if anybody have some advice on what i should do then that will be great...

P.S i havent made any changes to neither of the boots (GRUB - which the linux boot) and the windows boot...

P.S.S I am completely new to this kind of things i have some what of knowledge but please try to keep it simple..Thank u in advance (and English is not my first language)

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Dual Boot XP and Ubuntu Problem
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Dual Boot XP and Ubuntu Problem
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.