Linux forum

General discussion

Dual Boot: Vista + Ubuntu

by techguru256 / March 15, 2008 8:22 AM PDT

I am looking for the best way to dual boot Vista and Ubuntu (x86) with vista already installed. I have a hp pavilion dv9548us with 120GB and 80GB hard drives (SATA) and vista is installed on the 120GB (Default). What I would like to do is install Ubuntu on a partition of the 80GB which I have shrunk to 60GB to make room for Ubuntu. The trouble that I am having is that I want to leave the Vista MBR intact and use the BIOS to switch between the OSes if it is possible. I am a NOOB when it comes to Linux. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Below is the complete listing of my specs.

specs:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01072790&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=3439705&rule=44435&lang=en

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Dual Boot: Vista + Ubuntu
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Dual Boot: Vista + Ubuntu
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.