Cameras forum

General discussion

dSLR recommendations?

by JuniperJenny / November 2, 2009 2:12 AM PST

I've been urgently wanting to purchase a dSLR for about a year now, and have recently begun to do my due diligence. I'm not a photography expert by any means, but I have narrowed down my options to three dSLRs. It would be great if anyone could point me in the right direction with their advice on which of the following would be a great starter SLR with ease of use, excellent photo quality and good zoom features (I will probably get a lens kit once I get better at using the camera).

* Canon EOS Rebel XSi
* Canon EOS Rebel T1i
* Nikon d5000

Also, I don't think there are any newer models coming out so I should probably make the purchase right now or duing the holiday season and snag a good deal?

Thank you!
-JJ

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: dSLR recommendations?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: dSLR recommendations?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.