Internet Service Providers forum

General discussion

DSL distance limitations yet again

by nworbekim / September 7, 2008 2:49 AM PDT

i have been using the windstream DSL tier 1 for several months and even though i'm .4 beyond the 3 mile distance, i am able to use their service, somewhat slower than 1.5... but many times faster than dial up... so i am willing to pay the price...

last week, there were problems here with my connection... after complainging loudly after the 3rd day, they began to take me seriously... and had someone take a look at it...

the guy says that he found my problem and has dropped me back to what is called DSL lite here... he says i shouldn't see much difference in what i had... BUT I DO SEE A DROP OF NEARLY 50% IN MY SPEED!!! and by the way, the switch was done without my agreement...

every time i call them, they simply answer that i'm just too far out...

i'm reading that's not necessarily true... and besides, i know that already and am willing to accept the slower speed...

sooo.... yet again, i called and the tech in India, i think, says they will have me fixed by tuesday... if they don't... is there any other method of pursuing this or should i just give up and go somewhere else?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: DSL distance limitations yet again
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: DSL distance limitations yet again