General discussion

Does Linux require advanced programming know-how?

The only operating systems I've ever used are Windows, and while I'm an expert at using THAT system, I feel very intimidated by switching over to Linux. I DO know a lot about computers, besides just how Windows works, but it's a different story with programming. Just reading over linux.com and linux.org makes me feel like I don't know jack about computers. Words and phrases like "kernel," "SCO," "x86," and all the terms on the front page of http://www.linux.com are very confusing.

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: Does Linux require advanced programming know-how?
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Does Linux require advanced programming know-how?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Here's an article that I helped along.
- Collapse -
Linux is a good way to go !!