Windows Vista forum

Resolved Question

Docx files in MS Word

by leroy maximus / November 14, 2011 6:50 AM PST

I run Vista with a legal copy of MS Office for Home and Student.
I have recently saved new documents and when I return to open them all I see on the screen is a small red icon and references at the right hand side to a picture.
I am unable to see any of the text that I originally wrote. Have I mistakenly saved it under the wrong format?
I have been using Word for many years and these are the first occasions this has happened.

leroy maximus has chosen the best answer to their question. View answer
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Docx files in MS Word
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Docx files in MS Word
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.

All Answers

Best Answer chosen by leroy maximus

Collapse -
Tried Reassociating the File Type To Word?
by Grif Thomas Forum moderator / November 14, 2011 11:51 PM PST
In reply to: Docx files in MS Word