Desktops forum

General discussion

Do I need registry cleaner?

by AnnJonson / January 20, 2010 5:13 PM PST

Hello,

Lately I am facing some very weird RunDLL32 errors while I am trying to run programs I need for work. Also some shortcuts are blank, and no longer point to correct application.

Here is image of screenshot I took: http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/3414/rundll.png

Some of my so-called tech friends have recommended me to install good antivirus with built-in firewall, which I already have (Kaspersky 2010) and get some good registry cleaner software.

Since I am a tech newbie, I've been checking many reviews like http://fixexe.com/best-5-registry-fix-and-repair-tools/ and most of them seem to recommend Registry Easy, or ACA Utilities.

I hope you guys can advise me what registry cleaner to choose, if choose at all? Happy

Any help would be more than welcome!

Thanks,

Ann D

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Do I need registry cleaner?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Do I need registry cleaner?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.