TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Do I need an amp?

by rozclare / October 29, 2005 6:30 AM PDT

I have a home theatre speaker system which only has a six socket rca connection for the surround sound. Unfortunately my dvd has only a single audio L/R and coaxial output.
I am new to this and do not know if I need to buy an amplifier as well or if there is some way to connect my dvd to the system to play 5.1.

Can anyone give me some advice?

Thank you

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Do I need an amp?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Do I need an amp?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Do I need an amp?
by jcrobso / October 31, 2005 12:53 AM PST
In reply to: Do I need an amp?

Yes, you will need a home theater reciver. Sound from th DVD player the the reciver, hook the speaker to the reciver. John

Collapse -
Coaxial output gives you 5.1 sound
by TiVolution / October 31, 2005 2:49 AM PST