Cameras forum

General discussion

DLSR Lenses

by mvenkat23 / October 18, 2007 2:59 AM PDT

I want to buy an entry level DLSR, probably Nikon D40x or Canon Rebel Xti. I have no knowledge on the lenses. Can someone please help me in clarifying few things
1) What exactly a 18-55mm or 55-200 or 18-135 mm lens mean.
2) Is it good to have one 18-135 mm or (18-55mm & 55-200 mm) together?
3) If I buy 18-55 mm & 55-200mm, will I be using one at a time on my camera..or 55-200mm should be inserted only after 18-55mm?
4) If the lenses are only measured by the factor of 55/18 or 200/55 or 135/18 , 135/18 would be the ultimate choice..right?? why shld a person go for 18-55 mm & 55-200/300mm??
Please educate me..
Thanks in advance.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: DLSR Lenses
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: DLSR Lenses
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
wow ...
by rambler1277 / October 18, 2007 6:15 AM PDT
In reply to: DLSR Lenses