Mac OS forum

General discussion

Disk Error: Best Solution?

Hello,

I am new to this forum, but I have searched all the posts to find something like my problem. I am also a grad student in my last year, living on student loans . . . Happy

I have a graphite SE iBook, running Jaguar 10.3 and OS 9.2.

So, here is my problem:
1. I had downloaded an OS X update;
2. When I returned to the machine, there was a message that I was running out of disk space, but the machine was unresponsive.
3. I powered down and rebooted. Nothing.
4. Powered down and rebooted again. Nothing.
5. I rebooted using O-F; it came up, but I wasn't sure what to do while there.
6. I rebooted into single user mode and the machine when into kernel panic.
7. I tried to boot from my Jaguar disks; nothing.
8. I rebooted from my OS 9.2 disks. The machine came up.
9. I tried to delete the files in my Trash can, which consisted of 3 files: Rescued from Macintosh; Rescued from Macintosh 1; Rescued from Macintosh 2. Something spent a lot of time "preparing to delete", but returned with an Unable to delete: Disk Error message.
10. I checked this a couple of times; it was always the same.
11. I moved the files out of the trash can to my desktop, hoping to delete them directly without all the "preparing. . .", but it simply moved them back to trash can.
12. I have checked out Disk Warrior, which seems like the better option, and TechTool Pro. I would have to order both from the web, because here in southern New Mexico, we just don't have this stuff on the shelf Happy

So here is my question:
Is this behavior typical of a problem that could be solved with Disk Warrior, and prevented in this future? (The software sounds pretty good).

I am not much of a Mac person, although I have learned a lot in the past few days. I have lots of background in PC and mainframe and minicomputers (dating myself, enit!).