Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

Disk Cleanup stops while compressing files

by Carol~ Moderator / October 13, 2004 12:13 PM PDT

One support line says this problem occurs when there is an incorrect entry in the registry that is used by the Disk Cleanup utility to locate compressed files. It offered a way to workaround it through the registry. As a newbie, I fear touching it. I am not sure this is even the answer. Is there anyone who is aware of this problem and how to fix it in a "benign" manner?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Disk Cleanup stops while compressing files
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Disk Cleanup stops while compressing files
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Re: Disk Cleanup stops while compressing files
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / October 13, 2004 12:32 PM PDT
Collapse -
by Carol~ Moderator / October 15, 2004 6:32 AM PDT

Bob..