General discussion

DI 524 Not connecting more than 1 pc wireless

Hello, I am not very good with the technical lingo of routers, so any help in clear english is much appreciated!

I have a D-Link DI-524 router that I have been using for over 5 years now. I have had a few bumps in the road, but this one has got me. I have never had trouble hooking up to the internet wireless with more than 1 computer in the past.

I currently have a Laptop that I like to use with a WIRE to the Router, but I sometimes need to move my laptop away from the router and use it wireless.

Problem I have is, my desktop is not close to a wired connection and must use the Wireless all the time.

So when I unplug my Laptop from the router and try to use it wireless, BOTH computers loose their internet connection within minutes(so sometimes it works wireless on both computers but only for a sec) and the only way to get it back is to turn off one of the computers and reboot the router.

I have never had this issue in the past, this just started recently, a friend stopped in and wanted to connect to the wireless and he was not able to either.

So I am stuck with only connecting to the router using Wires and only 1 wireless at a time!

Can someone please help me?? I have spent a couple months trying to figure it out?
THANK YOU!

ADDED: I updated all drivers on both wireless cards and I have the only Firmware I can get for my router v1.23

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: DI 524 Not connecting more than 1 pc wireless
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: DI 524 Not connecting more than 1 pc wireless
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.