General discussion

Detailed 3D Computer Specifications

First of all , this is my first time I post my discussion to this forum so if there is any mistakes , forgive me . I am currently studying 3D Studio Max and I'm interested in making 3D Characters such as Avatar which needs detailed rendering and I've heard that it needs a high end perfomance hardware . And I am planning to buy either a Macbook or Macbook Pro , but I'm not sure if Apple has the correct specifications to my needs so I can also switch to buy other laptops . So , my question are :
1 ) Should I buy Apple products because I want to use Final Cut Studio 3.0 or should I switch to other products ?
2 ) What kind of minimum hardware to create high detailed 3D Characters such as Avatar ? Example is how much size does minimum video card is enough for my needs , processor type and clock speed , and the RAM I should use . Note : Maximum RAM is 8GB

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Detailed 3D Computer Specifications
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Detailed 3D Computer Specifications
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
As to the Apple machines.

These are very nice and if you want, look at the big hardware in the Mac Pro at http://www.apple.com/macpro/