Desktops forum

General discussion

Desktop specs for photographer

by Cargodogs / December 13, 2010 5:18 AM PST

Hello everyone,

I'm a photographer who needs a new computer. I have a fair clue about computers, but I need a good workhorse for Photoshop CS5 and various other photographic applications, and I haven't kept up to date with the PC side of things.

I hate when people show up on photo-forums and just ask "what should I get??", without consulting any photographic website or do any research.

Therefore, I have tried, to the best of my ability, to do a bit of research in this ever-changing market of computers. Initially I was inclined to just go with an iMac, but after a bit of research, I found that there's heck of a better deal, if you assemble your own PC.

What I would like you tech-experts to do, is run through the list and see if - with the listed config - I would run into any compatibility issues. Also, if you see any components that you think would be overkill (or underkill, if that word exists), then feel free to suggest other solutions. You'll notice that I haven't included mouse, keyboard or monitor. I have these from my existing desktop and they will do me fine.

I would like to be so free, as to ask that this thread does NOT turn into a PC vs MAC bashing. I've made up my mind and I'm not going with MAC for this computer, even though every other computer in my house is MAC. I'm not biased and I purchase computers after what I need, not after what is trendy.

I sincerely thank you for your time, and look forward to your replies.

Thanks in advance?

Here are the specs I've found so far (Comments and questions I have are listed under each component). I have found all components at TigerDirect.com - that's not to say that that's where I'll buy them, as, once I settle on a final config, I'll shop around for each component. This spec, buying everything from TD.com, will run me about 1500 USD.

Barebone: