PC Hardware forum

Desktop fails to POST. RAM issue?

by coachmark2 / July 23, 2011 11:12 AM PDT

Hey all, as you can see, this is my very first post on these forums. I'm an absolute newbie at this. I'll keep my problem description short and sweet.
I'm using an old Dell Dimension 3000 case but putting new hardware in it. This was intended to be a budget build but also to be a "sleeper" as well. Here's what I got:

Intel Pentium G620 (LGA 1155 Sandy Bridge)
2 x 2GB Crucial Desktop Memory (DDR3 @ 1333)
WD 500GB Caviar HD
Antec Earthwatts 380watt PSU
Intel-Micro ATX Motherboard 1333MHz (Socket 1155)-BOXDH61WWB3

Here's what happens: With all of this connected, attaching the PSU to the wall and flicking on the switch causes a green LED to light on the board labelled "Standby". When I press the power button, the fan spins for exactly 2 seconds, and then quits. No pressing of the power button, holding it down or anything else does anything. I have to turn off the PSU and wait for the light to wink out, turn ON the PSU, and then press the power button again, all to watch the fan spin for two seconds and quit.

I've removed the RAM completely, and it does the same exact thing. I've tried just one stick of RAM, I've tried moving either stick to either slot. Still nothing. I've disconnected the hard drive, I've plugged in a keyboard and monitor, nothing. I've even put my finger on the top of the CPU to see if its warming up. It's not.

The only thing is, if I actually remove the CPU and press the power button, then NOTHING happens. So it seems to me like the CPU is not DOA, but is doing SOMETHING.

I suspect it's a RAM issue (The sticks were shockingly cheap) but I'm totally new at this. Any feedback appreciated in advance.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Desktop fails to POST. RAM issue?