PC Hardware forum

Question

Dell XPS 210 upgrade help

by pikeman327 / May 2, 2014 2:10 PM PDT

Hi, somewhat of am upgrading novice here looking for some advice on how to solve a problem.

I recently upgraded a Dell XPS 210 (Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz, Intel P965 PCI Express, integrated Intel Graphics Media Accelerator X3000) from the original XP to Windows 7 (32 bit). Everything installed fine, but now after I use it for a few minutes I get this error:

"Display driver Intel Graphics Media Acceleration Driver for Windows Vista R stopped responding and has successfully recovered". That happens a few times, and then the screen just goes black. The computer stays on, but then I have to force restart to get the display to work again.

I searched here for display driver updates here and didn't see any for Windows 7:

http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/19/Product/xps-210

...however, I did find a Windows 7 (32 bit) driver for the Intel Graphics Media Accelerator here:

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?lang=eng&DwnldID=18223

...and I downloaded that, installed it, and restarted... but the same problem keeps happening.

So that's where I'm at. Do I need to install a new graphics card? If so, which one should I get? I've seen some threads elsewhere that say while this computer has a PCI-E x16 expansion slot, any graphics card installed would have to be a half-height or low profile one. More importantly, whatever card I'd get would have to have drivers for Windows 7... but I've honestly never upgraded a graphics card before so I'm not sure if that's what I need to do or which one to get if I need it. I've seen people elsewhere suggest an ATI Radeon X1300 Pro, but would that work with Windows 7?

Here's a link to the owners manual for this computer with all the tech specs as well:

ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-products/esuprt_desktop/esuprt_xps_desktop/xps-210_Owner's%20Manual_en-us.pdf