Speakeasy forum

General discussion

Dell, please poll -me-

by netsky / September 2, 2004 2:37 PM PDT

I am a Vietnam Era veteran. I enlisted.

Who else here served during war times, either by draft or by conscription?

(that's the WW2 euphemism for draft)

Does kerry really disparage all of us? I don't get you guys with the half baked out of context charges.

Even the President tonight lowered himself into the political mud tossing off lightly that Kerry is the man who has advocated 2 trillion dollars in new taxes. This bald assertion came without any qualifying description. Two trillion proposed last week? Or it 5,000 failed and passed versions of bills he may have voted with or for, over thirty plus years?

Cheap shots are OK (?) in some contexts, like between friends or in forums like this... but for the President to whitewash half-truths as character defining benchmarks, makes no friends outside of the choir. At least amongst listeners who practice critical thinking.

It's really cheap, this half truth proliferation- coming from both sides. But from the incumbent's own lips (sic)? I should write a complaint to Karl Rove.

That last sentence is a veiled insult for sure, a cheap shot for the intellectually equiped among us. But as I say, it's another thing coming from the CIC to all of America.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Dell, please poll -me-
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.