Laptops forum

General discussion

Dell Laptop LCD Cable?

by Primster7 / December 6, 2003 1:56 PM PST

I have a Dell Laptop with a slight problem. When I open the screen about 3-4" it's fine, but if I open it further the computer beeps once and the screen turns white. I'm assuming that it's an LCD cable but not sure. I was thinking of buying a cable then installing it myself (which I have never done before). Anyway, my two questions are: Is it safe to open the laptop when it's not plugged in and no battery attached? Can you be shocked? Also, does this sound like a LCD cable problem? Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Dell Laptop LCD Cable?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Dell Laptop LCD Cable?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Re:Dell Laptop LCD Cable? Is a flex cable.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / December 6, 2003 10:05 PM PST
In reply to: Dell Laptop LCD Cable?