HolidayBuyer's Guide

PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Defective Component? But Which One?

by Mr. Harmless / June 5, 2004 4:42 AM PDT

I'm rather new to this computer building game, so I was hoping you all could help me out with this. I bought all the components needed, and I put them all together, and, frankly, it doesn't work. It doesn't turn on or anything. I'm told that if the motherboard, cpu and power supply are in working condition, the heatsink fan should at least turn on, but it doesn't. I'm also a little afraid that I may have damaged the CPU when I installed the heatsink (AMD heatsinks are a bit tricky. I didn't hear a crack or anything, and I don't see any damage, but, like I said, I'm new to all this.). I also voided the CPU warranty by replacing the thermal goo with Arctic Silver.

So at this point I'm looking to send a few things back to Newegg for repair, but before I do that, I was wondering if anyone has any advice as to narrowing it down before I send everything back in with a "I don't know what's wrong. Help?" note attached. Thanks in advance.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Defective Component? But Which One?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Defective Component? But Which One?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.