Networking & Wireless forum

General discussion

Debate: which side is more right in this case?

Hi. I'm a student in a College, where Wireless Access Points (802.11b) are installed around our college to provide wireless network connection for our computers.

The Access Point (outdoor version, sorry I cannot find the make and model, but it claims that it is possible of transmitting and receiving a wide range) that we're connecting to frequently hangs (access point seen, but nobody can connect, nobody can use). The current solution that the vendor does is to shut down, restart the Access Point, temporarily fixing the problem, which will recur in a while (sometimes a few hours, sometimes a few days).

We're looking at a more permanent solution here. The vendor insists that it is the presence of Ad-hoc networks (for WLAN gaming like Warcraft) that is bringing the Wireless Access Point down.

I however suggested that that is not the problem. My reasons are:
1. The access point's transmitting and receiving power should logically be stronger than the individual wireless card's power. So if there really is interference, why is it that the Wireless Access Point that "loses the battle", but not the Wireless Cards setting up the Ad-hoc network? Using Physics law, if the amplitude of the Access Point's wave is +3a, and the Wireless Card's wave is +a, even if destructive interference occurs, the lowest amplitude is still +2a right? Is that not enough for transmission of data? (Please correct me if I put the relative strengths incorrectly)

2. Using Intel ProSET/Wireless to check, the Access Point is set to Channel 6, while the Wireless Cards setting up the Ad-hoc network are set to Channel 1. The 802.11b specification states that Channel 6 and Channel 1 does not overlap. Hence, should interference be a problem here?

3. If interference occurs, it should be some computers that are affected only, but in our case, the whole body of students using that access point is affected.