Desktops forum

General discussion

Custom-Built Computer Parts

by Selwyn / October 6, 2004 5:40 PM PDT

Hi. I'm going to be building a custom computer in a few months, built for gaming (mainly RPGs and RTS's, so I don't need anything too fancy), and all the other normal computer tasks. I was thinking about getting these parts, and I was wondering what people think about them, or anything I should change. This is my first time building a computer, so help would be appreciated. Here's what I'm thinking:

Case: DYNAPOWER ATX Black Mid-Tower Case with 430W Power Supply, Model D58-BK

Motherboard: Intel D865PERL i865PE Chipset

Processor: Intel Pentium 4/ 2.26 GHz 533MHz FSB, 512K Cache - Retail

Memory: Crucial 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200 8T - OEM

Video Card: NVIDIA FX 5500 256MB AGP

Floppy Drive: NEC 1.44MB Black Internal Floppy Drive, OEM

CD-ROM Drive: Samsung Black 52X CD-ROM, Model SH-152AEBUB, OEM

Hard Drive: SAMSUNG 80GB 7200RPM IDE Hard Drive, Model SP0802N, OEM Drive

Wireless Adaptor: NETGEAR MA111

The Nvidia Geforce FX 5500 requires 250W minimum power supply. In total, I tallied it up, and the whole computer requires 335W supply. My uncle (who's very good with computers, and has built many many ones) said that I should have 50% more power supply than I need, just in case, which would mean I need to take out the 430W supply and put in a 500W or 550W. Is this necessary?
Thanks.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Custom-Built Computer Parts
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates