Web Hosting, Design, & Coding forum

General discussion

Creating a batch file which can open document on certain day

by mike9287 / September 7, 2006 12:27 AM PDT

Hello,

I want to write a small batch file to open certain documents on my computer when I log on, that quite easy a certain document only needs to be open on fridays so I need to find a way of checking the system date and then using something like. I asked elsewhere but didnt get much help, a guy said something about using a VBscript although I have no experience in VB, and little in batch file scripting.

if date ==friday
then open myfile.doc
else
end

Can anyone give me some help with this?

I am using XP BTW.

Cheers

Mike

EDIT: I plan to put the .BAT file in my start folder and hope to run a check daily to see if day == friday.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Creating a batch file which can open document on certain day
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Creating a batch file which can open document on certain day
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.