PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Converting IDE to Serial ATA, problems :(

Win XP, Home, ver 2002, SP2, AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+, 2.01 GHz, 1 GB RAM

Hi people, appologies for the title of my previous post, as I did not read the "Hardware Sticky" note at the top and I am also new to this. Sad

I bought a Plextor PX-810SA DVDRW drive and I only realized my mistake when it arrived and the connection were different. I only have IDEs on my mobo and no SATA, so I thought, how the hell am I gona do this now. Well, I bought an IDE to Serial ATA Motherboard Adapter from StarTech (PATA25ATA) and the converting cables for the power supply etc.
I got to a stage where by the drive comes up on the boot up and it is also recognized in the BIOS but nothing comes up on Windows My Computer.
Can please anyone hlp me... Any suggestions... any tips...anything would be very much appeciated. Happy

All the best to you guys and I hope you having a great weekend.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Converting IDE to Serial ATA, problems :(
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Converting IDE to Serial ATA, problems :(
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.