Attention: The forums are currently placed on Read Only.

Thank you for visiting the CNET forums. Our site is currently undergoing some maintenance. During this period (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT,) you can read the forums content, however posting in the forum will not be available. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

converting from pc to mac

by tinystamper / January 23, 2006 7:05 AM PST

I am trying to transfer my files from my pc running windows xp to a new mac ibook using file sharing. I have a wireless net work in my house and want to use my pc as a server to access the files on the pc. When I go into my mac and say connect to server, it asks for an address and I don't know what to put in. Both computers can connect to the internet fine but I can't get them to talk to each other. I am a novice at networking and despite running all the wizards etc, I still cannot get my files across to the mac. Can anyone walk me through it step by step. How do I find out my pcs tcp/ip address or what to I need to make this work.
Thank you so much.

Discussion is locked
Collapse -
An easier way
by joe_smith / January 23, 2006 9:23 AM PST

OS X comes with an FTP server, and all you have to do is turn it on. OS X automatically opens the necessary ports on the firewall if you have it running, so no worries there.