Computer Help forum

General discussion

converting file for CD burning

Hi All,

First off I ought to mention that while I may not be a novice in regards to computers, I'm not too technical. Just thought it might be helpful to have that factor known upfront. With that stated I'll continue with my question.

I attended a meeting the other day that I wanted to record, but as I hadn't planned on it before hand I hadn't brought a recorder. Deciding to try and make the best of a bad situation, I made the audio recording using video setting my digital camera. It worked, although the quality isn't great. I'm assuming that there is some way that I can convert the file so that I can burn it onto CD in a format that can then be played on most standard CD players. Is that correct?

If so, here's what I've got.

The file is a QuickTime Movie file, just under 2GB in size, and it was recored using a Panasonic DMC FZ50. I'm not sure of the exact length of the recording, but I'm thinking it's probably about 90 minutes, maybe less. If I'm remembering correctly I guess therefore I'll need to split it between two CDs if it's greater than 70 minutes.

Both my home and work computers are running Windows XP.

On my home computer, in addition to any applications that come with the XP, I have a version of Nero Home Essentials SE that came with a DVD burner I had installed about a year ago. At work I also have access to some form of Roxio.

If there is any specific information that I neglected to include, just let me know and I'll fill in the blanks if I can.

Thanks in advance,
Steve

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: converting file for CD burning
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates