Question

Connectivity for replacing Optical to Super in a 2008 MB

Hello folks, I have been researching SuperDrives for my Jan 2008 A1181 Dual Core. There seem to be 3 main compatable models; GSAS10N, UJ-857C, and UJ-867A. I know they must be capped at 8xDVD and I want Dual layer ability. The UJ867A by Panasonic seems to fit what I want. Here are my 2 ?s.

1. Is the Panasonic 867A (Nov 2010) 9.5mm the best choice?

2. SATA or PATA? I know SATA is a bit faster but is that what's in there already? The 2010 new Super i am looking at is PATA, is the current Optical a SATA? And should I just try to find a SATA UJ-857C in good shape?

I know somewhere someone has already asked smthg similar but by page 20 and the CNet search yielded no answers.

Thank You for any help!

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: Connectivity for replacing Optical to Super in a 2008 MB
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Connectivity for replacing Optical to Super in a 2008 MB
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Answer
Why not go to Macsales.com
- Collapse -
That is the heart of the whole problem. SuperDrive limbo