TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Confusion: Pro logic, pro logic II, DTS, dolby digital, etc.

by wwywong / September 15, 2006 9:21 AM PDT

Hi, I am a newbie in home theatre sys, and I just bought a entry level sony HT-DDW700 system $179 in BestBuy. My room is small, so it is sufficient. But I have some questions about the technology side:

1.) in terms of quality, would I say the scale is the following?
pro logic < pro logic II < dolby digital < DTS (of cuz there are more but just comparing what I have in the receiver now)

2.) must pro logic be pass thru analog (red/white) plug? Or optical/coaxial cable is fine too?

3.) must pro logic II be pass thru optical/coaxial cable? Or analog (red/white) cable fine too?

4.) must dolby digial & DTS be pass thru optical/coaxial cable?

5.) if the input is stereo (specifically music), which effect is better? Pro logic, pro logic II, or some field mode in SONY such as "Digital Cinema Sound", or yet those surround mode such as "Hall, Jazz, Concert"? I really am confuse about all those modes. All I know is the pro logic or pro logic II seems to centralize the signer's vocal in the center speaker, while those surround mode spread the sound to all speaker to give a "hall feel"

6.) what's the diff between pro logic II movie and pro logic II music mode?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Confusion: Pro logic, pro logic II, DTS, dolby digital, etc.
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates