HolidayBuyer's Guide

Laptops forum

General discussion

computers on ebay?

by Lluraeden / March 27, 2008 11:44 AM PDT

I know that ebay has the cheapest deals in most things, but I'm not very experienced in that field. Is it considered a good idea to buy a computer on ebay in general?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: computers on ebay?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: computers on ebay?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
I wouldn't. . .
by Coryphaeus / March 28, 2008 7:38 AM PDT
In reply to: computers on ebay?

I've bought a ton of "parts" from eBay but not a full PC. There are horror stories about systems arriving DOA, and illegal copies of the OS. Who are you going to complain to if there's a problem?

Refurbished computers from the manufacturer's sites are the most reliable, and you will get a warranty (short), and a real company to complain to or for support.

In short, I wouldn't.

Collapse -
Just an after thought. . .