Computer Help forum

General discussion

computer turns on but there's no picture O_O

by xchichard / December 9, 2007 7:32 PM PST

hello everyone,

this is my first time ever upgrading more than 50% of a computer (and it happened to be my own computer). i had a HP Media Center m1270n that was bone-stock, but then i decided to buy a new case for it, along with new processor (e4500), cpu fan/heatsink, vid card (8600GT), and ram. i'm using the same mobo as before, however. it was working fine before the swap, but now, when i turn it on, all the fans and hard drive and optical drives physically turn on, but there's nothing showing up on my monitor! it's quite frustrating, actually. at first i thought it was a vid card problem, cause i DID forget to uninstall the old drivers for the old vid card (ati radeon x300se). but when i put the old card back in, it still didnt show a picture. i changed the processor back to the old one as well... no help. oh by the way, i got a new psu with the case that has higher capacity (500W versus 300W), i don't think that caused any problems...

full specs:
mobo - asus ptgd1-la (pufferG), i915 chipset
ram - 2GB PC3200 (2x512, 1x1GB)
processor - (old) intel pentium 4 530 (3.0 GHz, 800 MHz FSB), (new) intel core 2 duo e4500 (2.2 GHz, 800MHz FSB)
vid card - (old) asus x300SE, 128 MB, (new) evga 8800GT, 512 MB
hard drive - (im using my old one) maxtor 250GB, 7200RPM

any suggestions?
(btw. i don't want to buy a new mobo, cause that means new windows, and i don't really want to spend more than i already have.)

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: computer turns on but there's no picture O_O
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates