Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

Comparing two laptops before I buy, I'm a laptop noob.

by Lenbob10 / January 28, 2009 2:43 AM PST

I recently purchased a Dell Studio 15 with problems right out of the box, then I got an exchange with problems right out of the box so I'm getting a refund and planning to purchase a new laptop. I have my eyes on the new Lenovo IdeaPad Y530 and was wondering, ***is it better than the Studio 15 and what is the quality and performance of that laptop.*** I have read reviews on it, but I want to hear opinions from a variety of people...

I'll be using the laptop for entertainment and multimedia, home use.

And/or ***what other laptops are good for entertainment and multimedia for $800 or less?***

I don't know much about laptops so I need all the help possible...

Thank you for the help.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Comparing two laptops before I buy, I'm a laptop noob.
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Comparing two laptops before I buy, I'm a laptop noob.
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.