Laptops forum

General discussion

compaq notebook keyboard & touchpad unresponsive

by greensouthern / January 14, 2009 12:05 AM PST

i've been using an external (logitech) keyboard & mouse for 2 years with my compaq v6000. NO PROBLEMS until yesterday. the keys on my laptop don't do anything. the touchpad light is ON & the cursor moves until i touch a key, then nothing!

i've tried trouble shooting, but everything is "fine".

just before this, (hours) i was unable to shut down the computer properly, then it didn't want to start. i told it to use the last good config. same problem a little later & i started it in safe mode. it is still taking a LONG time to start up & the keys & mouse don't work. i've done several scans (kaspersky & webroot), defragged, disk cleaned, you name it.

i don't know if the two things are related. any ideas would be helpful. i DO move my laptop, but CAREFULLY - i have a hardside case,etc & have not spilled anything, etc.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: compaq notebook keyboard & touchpad unresponsive
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: compaq notebook keyboard & touchpad unresponsive
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.