Samsung forum

General discussion

Clicking sound in my 52" samsung LCD

by kell490 / November 27, 2009 1:16 AM PST

My TV started making this awful clicking sound during our thanksgiving day family event. Everyone was mad because we coudln't watch movies we rented. I looked up my warranty and I was 3 months out. I goggled clicking sound and found many others have had this issue as well with samsung. Seems the issue is perfectly timed to fail just outside the 1 year warranty. It appears the issue is the use of cheap electrolytic capacitors to save money or too low of a voltage. Since I have 10 years of CRT repair experience I quickly pulled the back off my TV and located the caps, 2 1000 UF 10v caps. Both were bulging at the top. I pulled them both and tested them on my digital LCR meter which I bought 15 years ago for a contract project both were reading about 10-60 uf. I noticed Frys electronics was open at 5am for black Friday I went down around 7 it was really busy all the parking spots were full but I was able to get in and the checkout was really fast they had about 50 cash registers open. Total repair cost $7. I'm surprised to see such issues so fast the CRT monitors I used to work on in the 90's lasted years before you would see this issue.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Clicking sound in my 52" samsung LCD
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.