Computer Help forum

General discussion

Clean Install or not?

Hi, I'm giving my old computer away to my sister, should I do a clean install or just go to system tools and do a system restore.
I've never done a clean install before, by using the windows xp disc that came with the computer.

Thanks

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Clean Install or not?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Clean Install or not?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
EXACTLY Which Discs Came With The Computer?

In reply to: Clean Install or not?

In addition, which computer brand and model number are you using?

Basically, when passing on a computer which contains your personal data, it's probably a good idea to at least, format the drive and reinstall everything from scratch.. (Business computers or computers with highly sensitive information should take other precautions to fully wipe the drive before reinstalling.)